The Restart of My Academic Life/ 新学期スタート!

IMG_3180
New student orientation at Chico State/新入生オリエンテーション

IMG_3198
Chinese Restaurant at Sacramento/中華料理 at サクラメント

IMG_3206
Night View of Chico State after class/ 夜の大学

Hello, my name is Akria.
I am the author of this blog and topics this blog would be covering are anything that I have experienced, enjoyed and had fun. So sometimes I may talk about my school life in the United States; some other times I will write about designing stuffs which I’m interested in or a travel website that I am now working on again with my friend in Japan.

Because the new semester has just begun here in us, I would like to introduce myself again to people who may visit this blog.

Ok, so far almost two weeks has passed this semester, I take five classes: Introduction to Philosophy, Statistics, Principles of Design, Basic Drawing, and English class for international students.
The very first thing that realized is that it is so difficult for me and maybe other internationals to make friends with American students because they always gather with domestic students and some of them seem to have no interest in global society or international education. It is sort of wired because the American students do not appear that they realize that the world is getting more and more globalized although more and more people from all over the world visit the United States to be those who learned and understand the global world.
Then, I found that only those who are interested in other culture are willing to contact us and I can keep in touch with them.
I know that eventually I have to get along with the Americans like that, but for now, it would be a better idea for me to try to talk to those who have interest in internationals and other international students.

IMG_3212
These are textbooks and stuffs I need for those courses. (I have more materials for the basic drawing class actually.) They cost me about $700-800.

I think that this is the first time for me to take five courses in one semester because at Lakeland College Japan, I was allowed to take only 4 classes. (There are some exceptions to take more than 4, I guess, but I did not meet the requirement. So I could not do that there.)

Overall, it seems that I’ve enrolled good class so far because there appears to be no other Japanese in the three of them, which forces me to speak my opinion only in English and all the instructors of those classes are, I think, excellent. They do care about students and are eager to help them. Plus, the grading system is likely to be fair enough for every one.
To describe how those classes are organized or conducted in detail, I think it is necessary to take photos of them next time. So I’d like to put it off till next post.

So today’s post will be focusing on my statistics class.

My statistics class is in fact offered through online, which is another new experience for me. The course is actually divided into two parts: class discussion and online lecture.
I have to watch the online lesson a day before the physical discussion is held in a class room and attend the discussion class.
Some might claim that online components are not that helpful as physical lecture, but I would say it is useful for me. this is because I could replay the lecture offered through online and study the subject at my pace. As a second language speaker, terms and concepts used in lecture sometimes require me to look them up in the English dictionary. It is difficult for me to do it during the physical lecture time because I would be so busy taking notes. However, in online lecture, this problem is easily solved by stopping a video. Therefore, I think taking an online class is good in this way.

In addition, there is a physical class that I have to attend to pass this statistics course. I assume that the combination between online and physical class makes the effectiveness of the class doubled. Thanks to this system, I can follow the lecture completely and ask questions that I could not understand through the online class in the physical one.

Anyway, that’s all for today.
I hope my motives for study will increase as the semester goes since now I am studying what I want to and at where I wanted to be:)

P.S. Again, Thanks, Mikhail, for you comment on the last post.
I will contact you at some time during this semester to talk about my travel website. I think Im going to complete creating it with Weebly because I want to make the contents richer first, and them, move it WordPress or other site.

こんにちは。今回からは、日本語でもブログやっていこうと思います。
まずは、自己紹介として。
僕の名前は本村章です。アメリカで大学生をやっています!
このブログでは基本的に、僕の好きなことや経験したことを書いたり、自分がいま進めているサイトの進行状況について報告したり、留学に興味がある人に向けてアメリカの大学生活がどんな感じなのかを更新しています。ほかの内容もたまにやります。

とりあえず今回は新学期も始まり心機一転と言うことで!
自己紹介から入り、今んとこの様子を書いていきたいと思います!

えっとまず今学期とっている授業は、統計学、英語(ESL)、絵画基礎、哲学?倫理?、そしてデザイン概論的な授業をとっています。

まずはじめに留学生ビザとして要求されていることがあり、
留学生は一学期間の間にかならず12単位以上取得しなければなりません。
これが満たせないと強制送還の対象になるので!

で今のところ僕は今学期15単位の授業を進行中です。
日本の大学で授業を受けたことがないので分かりませんが、
だいたいおんなじ授業が週に2回ずつあってそれを
15ー16週間で履修します。

今2週間終えてみての感想は
「なかなかいいクラスにあったったな(やっほい)。」
って感じです。先生は生徒のことをよく気にかけ、まさに俺たちの仕事は
生徒を助ける為にあるんだ!ってゆー感じの先生ばかりにあたりました。
これは僕がこの学校を選んだ理由のひとつだったので
選択としては正解だったなと思います!

理由としては、まず僕の通っている大学が少し内陸にあって留学生の割合が少ないこともありますが、とりあえず授業ではアメリカ人学生しかいない!
いやまあアメリカだし当り前なんだけど、とりあえず他の留学生にすら会わないなんてこともよくあります笑

まあなので英語しか使えない環境が容易にできるのは間違いないです。
しかしながら、このアメリカ人学生たちはまるでグローバル化の流れを知らないかの
ような雰囲気を感じます。
みんないつも固まってるし、入っていこうににも話も続かなければ、あんまし興味も持ってくれないときもあります笑

海外に興味がある人探して友達になるというステップが最初は
必要な気がしました。

で、まあ今回のブログのメインの話は、英語の方でも書いてるんですが、
統計学の授業内容についてです。
今僕が履修している統計学はオンラインと通常授業パートの二つに
別れています。基本的にはオンラインで扱った内容を、通常授業で理解・復習をしていくっていうような感じです。
最初は不安でしたが、案外楽しいし、身に付く!

自分はネイティブではないので、授業中に分からない単語に多々遭遇することがあります。そういうときに使うのが電子辞書ですが、実際の授業中はノートをとるので忙しくてそんなことやってる時間はありません。
かといって授業後にノートを見返しすとか、授業中に録音しとくとか、基本的に面倒くさがりの固まりの人間なのでしたくありません。

でもこのオンライン授業はそれらの悩みを解決してくれました!笑
そして80%以上理解した上で通常授業に望めるので
一石二鳥な感じです。

まあまだ最初の方なので結論的なことは何も言えませんが、
とりあえず楽しんでは行けています。

他のクラスに関しては、おいおい写真を撮りつつ
学校の様子やイベントなどもやる気があれば参加して
紹介していきます笑

何か質問あればコメントにどうぞ!

One thought on “The Restart of My Academic Life/ 新学期スタート!

Leave a comment